Loading Live Scoring...
*All times CAT (GMT+2)

Cricket | Indian Premier League 2018

Pollard, Bumrah keep Mumbai alive

Kieron Pollard produced a welcome and overdue return to form with 50 from just 23 balls as the Mumbai Indians reached 186-8 and beat the Kings XI Punjab by just three runs in their IPL match at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday night.

Full Scorecard: Mumbai v Punjab

The visitors were restricted to 183 for five with Jasprit Bumrah the outstanding bowler finishing with 3-15, including the wicket of opener KL Rahul who was on course to win the game with a brilliant 94 from 60 balls before miscuing a Bumrah slower ball to long off in the penultimate over.

The Kings XI have been over-reliant throughout the tournament on openers Rahul and Chris Gayle (18 from 11 balls), who was caught miscuing a Mitchell McClenaghan bouncer to deep square leg, while Aaron Finch (46 from 35 balls) departed in similar fashion when Hardik Pandya held a monster skier at deep midwicket off the bowling of Bumrah following a second-wicket partnership of 111 which seemed likely to lay the platform for victory.

But it was Mumbai who held their collective nerve and their hopes of a playoff place alive while diminishing the hopes of the Kings XI whose hopes now rest with other results working in their favour.

For Mumbai, the decision to recall an out-of-sorts Pollard in the hope that ‘big match temperament’ would come to the fore paid rich dividends.

The West Indian smashed five fours and three sixes after a cautious start and added a vital 65 runs with Krunal Pandya (32, 23 balls 1x4, 2x6) after the home side had slipped to 71 for four after being asked to bat first.

Suryakumar Yadav continued his outstanding season at the top of the order with 27 from just 15 balls (3x4, 2x6) but Australian mystery seamer Andrew Tye also continued his superb season by claiming the first three wickets at a cost of just five runs and finished with an outstanding 4-16 from his four overs.

MUMBAI INDIANS: Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Rohit Sharma (capt), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah

KINGS XI PUNJAB: Lokesh Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Yuvraj Singh, Manoj Tiwary, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin (capt), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Ankit Rajpoot


More expert analysis and opinion from Sport24
The opinions expressed by Sport24 experts and bloggers are theirs alone, and do not necessarily represent those of SuperSport

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming

Other Live Streaming

Event Streaming

Channel Streaming